Board of Directors

Jim Meredith Executive Chairman
Jim has significant experience of the waste industry, having held several senior roles within the sector. He was formerly chief executive of FCC’s UK asset base with revenues of approx. £700m,180 active business units and 2,400 employees following their acquisition in 2006 of Waste Recycling Group (WRG) the UK’s largest landfill and waste disposal business, which also provides services to the decommissioning markets. He had previously worked with TerraFirma Capital Partners (TFCP) during the acquisition of WRG in 2003. Prior to TFCP, he was an executive Director of Shanks plc. More recently, Jim was CEO of SCAID Capital, whose main business was Willerby Holiday Homes, the UK market leader in the manufacture of holiday homes.

He was appointed to the Board of Augean in December 2010 and became chairman in June 2012.

Mark Fryer Group Finance Director
Mark joined Augean in December 2016 and brings a significant breadth of financial expertise across a broad range of both listed and private companies having been Group Finance Director of Dialight PLC from 2010 to 2014 and previously of Manganese Bronze Holdings PLC from 2002 to 2010. For the past three years Mark has been Interim CFO of two private equity owned businesses, Bridon International Ltd and Nualight Limited.

Prior to this, Mark held senior finance positions at GKN plc and Cable & Wireless PLC after qualifying as a Chartered Accountant with Ernst & Young in 1991. Whilst at GKN plc, Mark gained specialist waste experience having been Finance Director for GKN Industrial Services division which included Cleanaway waste management.

He was appointed to the Board and became Group Finance Director on 14 December 2016.

John Grant Senior Independent Director/Non-executive Director
John brings a significant operational and financial contribution to the Board with over two decades’ experience in board director roles.  He is a non-executive director of MHP S.A as well as Chairman of the British Racing Drivers Club Limited. John previously served as the Chairman of Torotrak plc, and as senior independent director of Wolfson Microelectronics plc and of Melrose Industries plc, amongst other appointments. He was appointed to the Board on 24 August 2015.

John is Chairman of the Remuneration Committee.

Andrew Bryce Non-executive Director
Andrew, who had previously been on the Board as a Non-Executive Director for 12 years between June 2005 and 2017, re-joined the Board on 1 September 2017.  Qualified as a Solicitor and formerly an Equity Partner at Cameron Markby Hewitt (now part of CMS Cameron McKenna), since 1994, Andrew has run his own specialist environmental law practice and has significant experience across a range of national and international businesses in highly regulated sectors.  During his previous tenure on the Augean Board, Andrew held the position of Chairman of the Nominations Committee and Chairman of Health and Safety Scrutiny Committee (2013-14). Andrew is a Founding Member of the UK Environmental Law Association and was Chairman for three years and is currently Co-Chair of its Brexit Tax Force.

Andrew is chairman of the Nominations Committee.

Christopher Mills Non-executive Director
Christopher founded Harwood Capital Management in 2011, a successor from its former parent company J O Hambro Capital Management, which he co-founded in 1993. He is investment manager of North Atlantic Smaller Companies Investment Trust plc and is a non-executive director of several companies. Christopher was a director of Invesco MIM, where he was head of North American investments and venture capital, and of Samuel Montagu International.

Rod Holdsworth Non-executive Director
Rod has a significant breadth of financial expertise with more than 20 years’ of board level experience gained in the support services, construction, manufacturing and healthcare sectors. Most recently, Rod was Group Finance Director of OCS Group, a privately-owned, international facilities management business with 94,000 staff across 50 countries and revenue of approximately £1 billion. He previously served as Finance Director at Morrison plc, the construction and support services division owned by Anglian Water Group plc, and has also held senior financial positions at Acertec plc, Alfred McAlpine plc and Smiths Industries plc. Rod trained as a Civil Engineer before qualifying as a Chartered Accountant with Price Waterhouse in 1990. He is a fellow of the Institute of Chartered Accountants in England & Wales.

Rod is Chairman of the Audit Committee.

Roger McDowell Non-executive Director
Roger has returned to Augean having previously been a board member of the Group for 11 years between November 2004 and June 2015. Roger brings valuable experience as a successful businessman and entrepreneur, with a strong record of driving shareholder value and serving on the boards of public companies across a range of sectors.  During his previous tenure on Augean’s Board, Roger held the position of Interim CEO (2006 – 2007) and Interim Chairman (2010 – 2012). He was Managing Director of Oliver Ashworth for eighteen years before its sale to St. Gobain. He is currently serving as Non-Executive Chairman of Avingtrans plc, Senior Independent Non-Executive Director of Servelec Group plc and is also a Non-Executive Director of ThinkSmart plc, Tribal Group plc, Proteome Sciences plc and Swallowfield plc.